Tags

, , ,

Our Indiegogo campaign for Fae Fatales: A Fantasy Noir Anthology has reached its initial target! That means that no matter what else happens, this book is going ahead, and will be the very first publication of Solarwyrm Press! This is crazy exciting for me on multiple levels. Not least of which being that fact that this project involves me paying writers and publishing them, which makes me a bona fide editor and publisher! Just a little one, but nonetheless. You have to start somewhere, yes?

Our first stretch goal involves trying to get some art done for the book. We have a call for artists here. We already have enough for two out of a possible ten, so that’s awesome. If you know any artists who may be interested in this project, please send them towards that post.

This is very well timed for me. I really want to make this my job, and this whole process has taught me so much about how I want to do that. Not least of which is how collaborative the whole thing has been. I love that. I love that it’s not just me trying to sell a thing to people. This is me and a group of writers and a group of artists, and a group of fans and friends (and I love that those categories overlap in both directions), all working together to the goal: to create and produce a brand new thing and put it out into the world. We are the makers. I love that. I love that all of us are the makers, including the consumers. I love that crowdfunding lets us blur that distinction. We’re all in this together. To me, that is how art should be: collaborative.

It’s epic, and beautiful. And it’s WORKING. This makes me happy.

We’re already talking about the next projects for Solarwyrm. I don’t want to say too much about them yet, because we still have a couple of weeks to go on this one, and I’d really like to see us get all ten artists, so I don’t want to split the focus.

But I will say this much: This is only the beginning for Solarwyrm Press. 🙂 Watch this space!

